QueTek
  
Secure Site  

Strategy for Modified File


This scenario occurs when the contents of a file are modified and the changes are saved. The file is never deleted but its contents have changed. Can the original contents be recovered? Unfortunately in the large majority of cases the new data has been saved over the original data and recovery is impossible.

In rare occasions an application may create a copy of the original file with a temporary name and use it during modification. When the changes are saved, the application deletes the original file and renames the temporary file to the original name. In that case the file can be recoverable as a deleted file.


Back to Data Recovery Best Practices